No events to show.

VaSID Announces 2017 College Division All-State Softball Recipients

VaSID Announces 2017 College Division All-State Softball Recipients

ANNANDALE, Va. – The Virginia Sports Information Directors (VaSID) has announced the 2017 College Division All-State Softball team Thursday afternoon.

The 2017 NCAA Division III National Champion Virginia Wesleyan swept the major awards once again this year. Cassetty Howerin won her second straight Player of the Year award, while Brandon Elliot was named Coach of the Year for the second time in as many years. Hanna Hull, meanwhile, captured both Pitcher and Freshman of the Year after garnering NFCA National Player of the Year.

 Howerin hit .434 as a junior with 12 home runs and 56 RBIs to go along with 26 stolen bases.  Following the season, Howerin was named First Team All-American by the NFCA and picked up a second All-American honor from the FPN.
Hull was a seven-time ODAC Pitcher of the Week, four-time national pitcher of the week and ODAC Pitcher and Rookie of the Year. She was also selected First Team All-America by the NFCA and FPN.

Elliot, who led the Marlins to a 53-win season in 2017 won his third overall VaSID Coach of the Year honor. After dropping its first game at the NCAA National Championship to Texas-Tyler, Virginia Wesleyan won six straight games to claim the national title.

VaSID names 27 all-state teams in 15 sports each year, as well as an Academic All-State squad and an all-sports champion in both the University and College Divisions. Membership to VaSID is open to all media relations professionals working at a University or conference in the state of Virginia.


VaSID Major Awards

Cassetty Howerin Player of the Year

Hanna Hull Pitcher of the Year

Brandon Elliott Coach of the Year

Hanna Hull Rookie of the Year


First Team VaSID

P Hanna Hull (Virginia Wesleyan)

P Taylor Brandts (Virginia-Wise)

P Courtney Wright (Virginia Wesleyan)

C Jessica Lindsay (Virginia Wesleyan)

1B Cassetty Howerin (Virginia Wesleyan)

2B Sam Bird (Mary Baldwin)

3B Mariah Foltz (Eastern Mennonite)

SS Jessica Long (Averett)

OF Leah Andrews (Christopher Newport)

OF Samantha Hall (Averett)

OF Rachael Shiflett (Christopher Newport)

DP Kaitlyn Aherron (Averett)


Second Team VaSID

P Candace Whittemore (Randolph-Macon)

P Aubrey Bates (Christopher Newport)

P Emily Kendrick (Emory & Henry)

C Calah Savage (Christopher Newport)

1B Caley Hodge (Emory & Henry)

2B Grace Wild (Christopher Newport)

3B Kaylah Duplain (Virginia Wesleyan)

SS Rachael Payne (Christopher Newport)

OF Skylar Dickens (Lynchburg)

OF Savannah Jones (Eastern Mennonite)

OF Zoe Millard (Virginia-Wise)

DP Mikalia Guard (Bridgewater) 

Courtesy of VaSID Sports Information