Fri Aug 31
vs. Bridgewater
@ Bridgewater College
Fri Aug 31
7:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
vs. Bryn Mawr
@ Eastern Mennonite University
Sat Sep 01
2:00 PM
N.C. Wesleyan
vs. Mary Baldwin
@ Harrisonburg, Va.
Tue Sep 04
7:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
at Ferrum
Wed Sep 05
7:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
at Hollins
Fri Sep 07
12:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
vs. Hollins
@ Salem, VA 2018 Maroon Classic
Fri Sep 07
6:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
at Roanoke
Sat Sep 08
vs. MBU Golden Acorn Invitational
@ Murphy-Deming College of Health Sciences
Sat Sep 08
3:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
vs. Randolph
@ Salem, Va. Maroon Classic
Sat Sep 08
5:00 PM
Ferrum
vs. Mary Baldwin
@ Roanoke College 2018 Maroon Classic
Fri Sep 14
vs. Addidas XC Challenge
@ Cary, NC
Sat Sep 15
1:00 PM
Southern Virginia
vs. Mary Baldwin
@ Bridgewater, Va.
Sat Sep 15
3:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Tue Sep 18
7:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
at Greensboro
Sat Sep 22
12:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
at William Peace
Sat Sep 22
2:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
vs. Salem
@ William Peace University
Wed Sep 26
7:00 PM
Averett
Mary Baldwin
Sat Sep 29
vs. USA South Preview Race
@ Maryville, TN
Sat Sep 29
12:00 PM
Methodist
Mary Baldwin
Sat Sep 29
4:00 PM
Meredith
Mary Baldwin
Thu Oct 04
7:00 PM
Hollins
Mary Baldwin
Sat Oct 06
vs. CNU Invitational
@ Newport News, VA
Sat Oct 06
12:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
at Pfeiffer
Sat Oct 06
2:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
vs. N.C. Wesleyan
@ Misenheimer, N.C.
Tue Oct 09
7:00 PM
Greensboro
Mary Baldwin
View Full Schedule

The Fighting Squirrels

Why are Mary Baldwin athletes called the Fighting Squirrels?

The squirrel was the central figure in the family crest of Mary Julia Baldwin, our school’s second founder who transformed the Augusta Female Seminary (established in 1842 by Rufus Bailey, our first founder) into a prosperous and innovative school in the years following the Civil War. It was natural, after the trustees renamed the school for Miss Baldwin, for the official seal and team name to incorporate the squirrel as well.

In heraldry the squirrel is a symbol of industriousness, trustworthiness, and preparation for the future. It also has been used to represent those with a love of the woods. In Nordic mythology, the squirrel is a symbol of the soul. These ancient meanings apply to Baldwin athletes who know that diligent work will pay off at game time and that their teammates depend on them — and equally apply to all Baldwin women and men who are disciplined in their focus, strive to do good in the world, work toward environmental sustainability, and seek wellness of body as well as soul.

The Fighting Squirrels’ unusual team name has earned Mary Baldwin national attention, including mentions in NPR’s Only a Game, on ESPN and Animal Planet, and in newspapers throughout the country.