Thu Oct 18
7:00 PM
East. Mennonite
Mary Baldwin
Sat Oct 20
10:00 AM
James Madison University Club Team
Mary Baldwin
Sat Oct 20
12:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
at Methodist
Sat Oct 20
2:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
vs. Meredith
@ Methodist University
Sat Oct 20
4:15 PM
Mary Baldwin
at Christopher Newport University Club Team
Sun Oct 21
2:00 PM
William & Mary Club soccer
Mary Baldwin
Tue Oct 23
7:00 PM
Roanoke
Mary Baldwin
Wed Oct 24
7:00 PM
Ferrum
Mary Baldwin
Thu Oct 25
7:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
at Randolph
Senior Day
Fri Oct 26
vs. USA South Conference Championships
@ Maryville, TN
Sat Oct 27
12:00 PM
Mary Washington Club Soccer
Mary Baldwin
Sat Oct 27
2:00 PM
Christopher Newport University Club Team
Mary Baldwin
Sun Oct 28
12:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
at N.C. Wesleyan
Sun Oct 28
2:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
vs. Pfeiffer
@ N.C. Wesleyan College
Sat Nov 03
12:00 PM
Virginia Commonwealth University Club Team
Mary Baldwin
Sat Nov 03
3:00 PM
University of Lynchburg Club Team
Mary Baldwin
Fri Nov 09
6:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
at St. Mary's (Md.)
Fri Nov 09
6:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
at William and Mary Gold Club Team
Sat Nov 10
vs. NCAA DIII Southeast Regionals
@ Rome, GA
Sat Nov 10
TBA
Mary Baldwin
at William and Mary Club Team
Sun Nov 11
4:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
at Hollins
Wed Nov 14
6:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
at Shenandoah
Sat Nov 17
2:00 PM
Bryn Mawr
Mary Baldwin
Mon Nov 19
6:00 PM
Trinity (D.C.)
Mary Baldwin
Sat Nov 24
6:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
vs. York (N.Y.)
@ Penn State Harrisburg Tournament Penn State Harrisburg Tournament
View Full Schedule

The Fighting Squirrels

Why are Mary Baldwin athletes called the Fighting Squirrels?

The squirrel was the central figure in the family crest of Mary Julia Baldwin, our school’s second founder who transformed the Augusta Female Seminary (established in 1842 by Rufus Bailey, our first founder) into a prosperous and innovative school in the years following the Civil War. It was natural, after the trustees renamed the school for Miss Baldwin, for the official seal and team name to incorporate the squirrel as well.

In heraldry the squirrel is a symbol of industriousness, trustworthiness, and preparation for the future. It also has been used to represent those with a love of the woods. In Nordic mythology, the squirrel is a symbol of the soul. These ancient meanings apply to Baldwin athletes who know that diligent work will pay off at game time and that their teammates depend on them — and equally apply to all Baldwin women and men who are disciplined in their focus, strive to do good in the world, work toward environmental sustainability, and seek wellness of body as well as soul.

The Fighting Squirrels’ unusual team name has earned Mary Baldwin national attention, including mentions in NPR’s Only a Game, on ESPN and Animal Planet, and in newspapers throughout the country.